Bleeding heart

For the first time in a long time, I cried. It all got rather too much for me. He had told me that this day meant nothing to him. I understood that but I told him that it meant something to me. It seemed that that still did not matter to him.  In the context of trying to work out if my needs were important or even acknowledged by him, I made a fuss. And when my fuss, of him and of it, were not appreciated in the way that I expected. Well, it was just too much for me. I cried but the tears dried up pretty quickly because it became apparent that there was a coldness and indifference from him that took my breath away. I do wonder if the frost came from knowledge, that I told him that he was the sole cause of my sadness, unhappiness and distress. When I told him I thought perhaps I had married the wrong man, he did not disagree. There was nothing to say after that.

Leave a Reply

